Fire Underwriters SurveyTM (FUS) is a national organization administered by OPTA Information Intelligence, formerly CGI Insurance Business Services, formerly the Insurers’ Advisory Organization and Canadian Underwriters Association. FUS provides data on public fire protection for fire insurance statistical work and underwriting purposes of subscribing insurance companies. Subscribers of Fire Underwriters Survey represent approximately 85 percent of the private sector property and casualty insurers in Canada.

Fire Underwriters SurveyTM Certified Fire Protection Specialists conduct detailed field surveys of the fire risks and fire defenses maintained in built up communities (including incorporated and unincorporated communities of all types) across Canada and the results of these surveys are used to establish a Public Fire Protection ClassificationTM (PFPC) for each community. While Fire Underwriters Survey is not involved in rate making matters, the information provided through the Fire Insurance Grading Index is a key factor used in the development of Commercial Lines property insurance rates. The PFPC is also used by underwriters to determine the capacity of risk they are willing to assume in a given community or section of a community.

The overall intent of the PFPC system is to provide a standardized measure of the ability of the protective facilities of a community to prevent and control the major fires that may be expected to occur by evaluating in detail the adequacy, reliability, strength and efficiency of the protective facilities and comparing the level of protection against the level of fire risk in the built environment.

The Fire Underwriters Survey also uses PFPC information to develop the Dwelling Protection Grade (DPG), which is utilized by Personal Lines insurers in determining property insurance rates for detached dwellings (with not more than two dwelling units). The Dwelling Protection Grade is a measure of the ability of the protective facilities of a community to prevent and control the structure fires in detached dwellings by evaluating the adequacy, reliability, strength and efficiency of the protective facilities and comparing the level of protection against the level of fire risk associated with a typical dwelling.

The fire insurance grading system used does not consider past fire loss records but, rather, fire potential based on the physical structure and makeup of the built environment.

Le Service d’inspection des assureurs incendieMD (SIAI) est un organisme national dirigé par Opta Intelligence informationnelle inc. (anciennement SCM Gestion des risques, CGI Gestion des fonctions d’assurance, le Groupement technique des assureurs et l’Association canadienne des assureurs). Le SIAI fournit aux assureurs membres des données sur les secours publics contre l’incendie pour la tenue de statistiques sur l’assurance incendie et la sélection des risques. Le SIAI représente environ 85 pour cent du secteur privé des assurances de dommages au Canada.

Les spécialistes confirmés de la protection incendie du Service d’inspection des assureurs incendie font, sur le terrain, des études détaillées des risques d’incendie et des moyens de défense des agglomérations (c’est-à-dire tous les types de collectivités, dotées de la personnalité morale ou non) dans l’ensemble du Canada. Les résultats de ces études servent au classement des secours publics contre l’incendie (CSPI) de chaque collectivité. Bien que le SIAI ne participe pas à l’élaboration des tarifs, les renseignements que fournit son Index de classement jouent un rôle capital dans l’établissement des taux d’assurance Biens des entreprises. Le classement aide aussi les rédacteurs production à déterminer le volume de risques qu’ils sont disposés à prendre en charge dans une collectivité ou une partie de collectivité donnée.

Le système de classement des secours publics contre l’incendie a pour principal objectif de fournir une mesure normalisée de la capacité des collectivités à prévenir et à maîtriser les grands incendies susceptibles de survenir sur leur territoire. À cette fin, le SIAI évalue avec précision l’adéquation, la fiabilité, la solidité et l’efficacité des moyens de défense et compare le niveau de protection des zones bâties au niveau de risque d’incendie qu’elles présentent.

Le SIAI utilise aussi les données du CSPI pour faire le classement de la protection des habitations (CPH) qui sert, en assurance des particuliers, à déterminer les taux d’assurance des maisons isolées (ne comptant pas plus de deux logements). La classe de protection des habitations mesure la capacité des collectivités à prévenir et à maîtriser les feux de bâtiment dans les maisons isolées. À cette fin, le SIAI évalue avec précision l’adéquation, la fiabilité, la solidité et l’efficacité des moyens de défense et compare le niveau de protection d’une habitation type au niveau de risque d’incendie qu’elle présente.

Le système de classement à des fins d’assurance incendie ne tient pas compte des sinistres antérieurs mais des risques d’incendie, déterminés d’après la nature des constructions et la configuration des zones bâties.